Campo Pequeno Bullring
The Campo Pequeno stadium was built between 1890 and 1892 for the purpose of being the home of Portuguese bullfighting. Designed in a neo-Mudújar style by Portuguese architect António José Dias da Silva who was inspired by the old bullring of Madrid, since demolished. This iconic building is based on a circular foundation with four large octagonal towers occupying the four cardinal points each atoned with arabesque domes. The main entrance occupies the western tower itself flanked by two turrets. The structure is encased in distinctive orange brickwork with Moorish Arches crowning its doorways and many windows. Its arena spans a diameter of 80 metres and accommodates 10,000 spectators. Since its doors first opened in 1892 the popularity of Tauromachy has wained somewhat and the complex has undergone subsequent reinventions.